Lahore Qalandars Team Guide & Team Squad

There was major change at the top for Lahore as Aaqib Javed left his post as UAE coach to join the franchise as director of cricket and his first order of business was to hire a new captain.

Brendon McCullum was announced as their top pick for the draft and new skipper, Azhar Ali cast aside.

Gayle has also gone, as have fellow West Indians Dwayne Bravo and Kevon Cooper while Ajantha Mendis and Mustafizur Rahman are the other foreign players who will not return.

Cameron Delport will, however, the South African the only overseas to keep his place.

Jason Roy of England, Australian Chris Green and West Indies spinner Sunil Narine have signed, while McCullum will be joined by fellow Kiwis Anton Devcich, James Franklin and Grant Elliott.

Domestically, Sohail Tanvir is one of many new faces in part of an entire squad overhaul that only sees Azhar, Umar, Mohammad Rizwan, Yasir Shah and Zafar Gohar retained from the list of Pakistan nationals who played for Lahore last year.


Lahore’s recruitment has seen a mass change from top to bottom and it will be interesting to see whether it is a case of too much too soon or just what the doctor ordered.

There is real potential in this team and with McCullum at the helm anything is possible. They should avoid finishing bottom this year but go no further than the second qualifying final.


Overseas: Platinum Category – Chris Lynn (Australia) Diamond Category — Mustafizur Rehman (Bangladesh) Gold Category — Bilal Asif (Pakistan) Silver Category — Raza Hassan And Sohail Akhtar (Pakistan) Emerging Players Category — Ghulam Mudassir and Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan) Supplementary category — Angelo Mathews, Mitchell McClenaghan and Gulraiz Sadaf.

Zoraiz Aftab
Ceo Of CricCrowd and Hard Working IT Student i Love Surfing Internet & Cricket my 2nd love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *